Sharkfest!

Sharkfest is RMR’s home race weekend, usually held at Mount Shark, which is located here.

Picture 9

 

However, the race was moved to the Canmore Nordic Centre for the weekend. It’s too bad, because Mt. Shark is beautiful, but perhaps more convenient and easier on the body. The elevation at Shark is exhausting to say the least.

The amount of time, energy, planning, and v-boards that goes into hosting a race is absolutely staggering. As I watched and helped some of the key volunteers in our club work from the early morning through to the night, I found myself wanting to give them something to help out. Like liquor, for example, or something to freeze time. Instead I moved v boards around to mark various courses and tried not to lose the radio they gave me. This weekend definitely gave me a new perspective on what it means to host a race, and a new appreciation for all that goes into it. THANK YOU!!!

Setting out v-boards for the course in the rising sun.

Setting out v-boards for the course in the rising sun.

Matchy

Matchy

Good turnout

Good turnout

IMG_4955

Say "Saskatchewan!"

Say “Saskatchewan!”

On Sunday I did the skate race. The start order was based on the results from the previous day. Because I didn’t race on Saturday, my points were effectively at zero, so I started in the back of the wave start. After a week mostly off, jet lag, and a whole season of racing behind me, I wasn’t sure what to expect. The course was also quite brutal, with a lot of hills and fresh snow. Thank gosh RMR nailed the glide wax again! My plan was to ski at a hard zone 3 pace for as long as I could, and then ramp it up from there if I felt ok. It worked and I felt pretty good. MZ and I finished the race in a sprint finish, which was kind of hilarious and appropriate, and also very tiring.

Afterwards everyone was being really nice and congratulating me, which I assumed was just really kind. It was only at the awards ceremony when they told me to put a team coat on that I realized I’d actually made it to the podium in third place for the day. Cool!

_jz0QiOhkklLlSrTE1DGA4yitaUQZKIxo7rMfKUzjJA

 

A cool picture from HH. Thanks! It looks like I skied out of the cuffs of my boots somehow.

 

GN displays some awesome downhill swagger.

GN displays some awesome downhill swagger.

Thanks to HH for the photos above. If you’re reading this, yes!, I am about to pay my team fees. 🙂

1 thought on “Sharkfest!

Leave a comment